Hello world!

Hello and welcome to all. My blog is simply to share with you my influences from my view of the world. Learning, Fashion, Music and Travel are where my experiences come from and how they have taken down my path of life.

About me, I am from Edmonton, AB, Canada and a student at the University of Alberta. I am in my fourth year, studying Material Culture as my major and Marketing is my minor. I have changed my direction of study so many times. I started out just in Arts, taking a very broad ranges of classes, from Ukrainian and Modern Dance to Statistics. I came into university nieve about how this type of school life would be for me. I thought that collage life was fantastic! Getting money from my student loans, teachers not caring if you come to class or do your homework, basically I felt the freedom of being “my own boss”. I quickly came to the realization that school and learning is not going to come easy and found myself struggling with my classes. I had an epiphany and knew that if I was going to continue with my education I would have to find something that I was pasionate about and had a real intrest in pursuing. I changed my major to Speech Methology, then to Biochemistry, then to Organic Chemistry. I still found myself struggling and not caring. Finally I found the faculty of ALES and switched into Human Ecology. I love fashion and the business practices around it.

Being in Human Ecology and having fashion related classes combined two of my loves. Learning and Fashion. As well in a lot of my classes I have been exposed to different world cultures and studying their economies. I love to travel and have been very fortunate to be able to go to different parts of the world. I have been to all the proviences in Canada, and have travelled the United States and Mexico. North America is almost done! A goal of mine is to travel to every continent in the world and see how different cultures live. I love to experience and learn about other religion and social norms.

My minor being business was a move that I chose basically from a strategic point. I really want a job after I am graduated from my bachelor degree. I have A LOT of experience working in an office setting. I have been an employee at North American Construction Group for the past 6 summers. Doing things in Payroll, Accounts Payable, Accounts Recievable, Finance, Accouting and Reception duties. It is a fantastic place with great employers and co-workers, although with this experience I have discovered that I do not want that to be my field of work as my career. Which is why I chose marketing. Marketing is all about networking to find a job. It is who you know, to be able to get a foot in the door at a job. I think that is why blogging and twitter is so important. Especially for my field of study.

Social Media is a new form of communication that has entered the business world. It is a key communication tool for being able to connect with people across the world, in a more comfortable and laid back manner rather than high class business meetings. I think that it is important in my field of study and how my career is going to progress because it is able to give me a different and personal voice. I am able to communicate and express my thoughts and feelings about a subject and find those who share similar opinions. As well, it gives information about events that may be going on that would benefit your career by being there. It gives you the opportunity to meet people that you normally would not be able to, perhaps due to location. I also like a blog because it keeps my in touch with projects that some of my friends are pursuing. I follow my friend Jessica’s blog on fashion and travel and she lives in Vancouver. It creates a personal experience as if I am there with her even though I am not.

An internal link that I am following is my friend Alana’s blog. Through social media and communication I have been able to develop a friendship at school and keep updated in my friends lives.

Leave a comment