Facebook and Social Media!

Facebook was created to serve a specific collage student target segment in 2004. Since then it has taken storm all around the world and it seems that everybody now has a Facebook page. It is used to catch up with old friends, become part of a new social circle and now even for business. I have been able to find new blogs that I am interested and able to find new friends made in class. Along with students and acting professional many companies create a Facebook page that people can “like” (follow) and see posts about the work that they are doing. I am in the marketing and advertising field. I have an internship at WeAreFree, an advertising and marketing company in Edmonton and they too have a Facebook page. I follow that to stay connected about new projects that they are working on so that when I start my practicum I can be generally caught up with what the company has done and also what they are about.

I created a Facebook page in my last ALES 204 lab lecture. The reason that this was made is basically to have a one page online business card for yourself! It was explained to us in class that this is a way to have people find you online, but not your personal or even risky photos that you may have lingering out there. Using this Facebook page is to help with career advancement by sharing your job interests, goals and skills that you can offer to a future employer. This page is just another way to get yourself out there in the “real” working world as a more convenient resume.

This will be useful to help further careers because it provides detailed information in a concise format. I find sometimes that if your resumes first page is not exceptional the employer you hope to look at it will just pass it by. This Facebook page just being one page, give you the opportunity to share you education, work experience, goals and achievements at once and in a capturing way. I think that this can further your career by getting more attention. If perhaps a company does not have a position for you based on the criteria you have posted on your page, they may know someone else in the field that might and pass it on to them. I believe that all kinds of business is all about networking. A website that I found regarding to Facebook (and other social media) has tips about it and how it is used as a new form of networking. I think that these tips help with the whole aspect of using Facebook as a professional tool.

Leave a comment